FEATURED POET – FEBRUARY 2011 

Getting to Know:   Shervin Hojat

1:  What kinds of emotions/images/objects/animals inspire you most?

I love being in nature.  Camping is one of my most relaxing activities.  My dog, Tiber, inspires me every day.  He shows me what it means to be in the moment, to be passionate, and act with excitement as if everything is being seen for the first time.  I am inspired by hawks, eagles, snakes and buffalo; all of them acting as my inspiration to transform my fears and doubts into my courage, trust and confidence.

I pay close attention to my “negative emotions” by acknowledging them, investigating their sources and associated belief systems.

2:  Do you have a favorite author, book or movie to recommend?

Some of my favorite authors are Krishnamurti, Rumi, Byron Katie, Neville, Ted Andrews and Alberto Villoldo.  I enjoy watching Matrix and Inception over and over.

3:  What jobs or projects are you involved with outside of OM Times?

I have a PhD in Electrical Engineering and work for a high tech company.  My day job supports many activities that I love to do after work.  I have quite a few interests, and over the past couple of years I have been exploring many of them.

I began writing poetry about four years ago after my father was in a fatal accident. Two years ago, I completed my book, Tend to Your Garden Within which is poetry and short essays describing my personal journey that many can relate to.  I started painting two years ago (hated it as a child) and I use my paintings to express and honor my meaningful experiences during my awake and dream time.

I am involved with Shamanism (connecting with nature and healing techniques), trance dance, dream interpretation, intuition building, Reiki, Kundalini Yoga, group healing, Language of Mastery, and Outcome Facilitation.